• Google Search
  • Google Translate
Winscombe Primary School


Welcome to the Strawberry Line Federation -  School Governing Body.


Governors are a voluntary body of people who guide and support the strategic direction of the school.  They are members of the school team and their contribution to running of the school is highly valued.

There are two primary schools in our federation:

  • Sandford Primary School (a Community School)
  • Winscombe Primary School (a Community School).


The Instrument of Government states that the governing body shall consist of a total of 12 governors:

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 Local Authority Governor
  • 7 Co-opted Governors.


The Governance Board has the following core strategic functions:

  • Establishing the strategic direction by:
    • Setting and ensuring clarity of vision, values and objectives for the schools
    • Agreeing the school improvement strategy with priorities and targets
    • Meeting statutory duties.
  • Ensuring accountability by:
    • Appointing the executive headteacher
    • Monitoring the educational performance of the schools and progress towards agreed target
    • Performance managing the executive headteacher
    • Engaging with stakeholders
    • Contributing to school self-evaluation.
  • Overseeing financial performance:
    • Setting the budget
    • Monitoring spending against the budget
    • Ensuring money is well spent and value for money is obtained
    • Ensuring risks to the organisation are managed.


The Strawberry Line Governors



Governor Name


Type of Governor

Term of Office

John Fowler

Local Authority Governor

22 January 2019 to

21 January 2023

Belinda Hancock Parent Governor

3 March 2019 to

2 March 2023

Ian Chadwick Parent Governor

9 March 2020 to

8 March 2024

Andrea Muxworthy Staff Governor

1 September 2019 to

31 August 2023

Ina-Maria Bamford Co-Opted Governor

2 March 2019 to

1 March 2023

Mo Townsend Co-Opted Governor

2 September 2017 to

1 September 2021

Christopher Lee Co-Opted Governor

24 September 2019 to

23 September 2023

Andrew Hawkes Co-Opted Governor

9 December 2019 to

8 December 2023

Sven Bassett Co-Opted Governor

7 July 2020 to

6 July 2024

Angie Stevens Co-Opted Governor

23 September 2020 to

22 September 2024

Lorna Richardson Executive Head Teacher

1 September 2020



Clerk to Governors - Dinah Hill-Adams




Governors Roles and Responsibilities



Governor Name


Role and Responsibilties
John Fowler Chair of Governors
Ina-Maria Bamford

Deputy Chair of Governors

GDPR Link Governor

Belinda Hancock

COVID-19, Safeguarding and

Mathematics Link Governor

Ian Chadwick

Chair of Finance and Resources Committee

Equality and Diversity Link Governor

Mo Townsend

SEND, Behaviour, Discipline

and Mental Health Link Governor

Christopher Lee

Pupil Premium, Sports Pupil Premium

and Looked After Children Link Governor

Andrew Hawkes Literacy Link Governor
Sven Bassett PHSE Link Governor